People - Full Directory

Please Note: Faculty and TAs do not hold office hours during Finals Week and Quarter Breaks.

People - Full Directory
Name Title Email/Phone Office Hours
Abedin, Nandini Lecturer abedin@uw.edu
206-616-4603
SMI 022
T, Th 4 - 5 PM
Aguilar, John Graduate Student in Chinese johnsajr@uw.edu
Ahmad, Jameel Associate Teaching Professor, Language Testing Coordinator jameel7@uw.edu
206-543-6491
GWN M231
Wed, Thurs 1 - 1:50 PM
Andriiuk, Tetiana Graduate Student in Japanese tanitaan@uw.edu
Arkham, Belle Department Coordinator asianpc@uw.edu
206-543-4918
GWN 225
Arroyave, Juan Felipe Graduate Student in Japanese, Teaching Assistant in Japanese, GSA Colloquium Coordinator tommib@uw.edu GWN M230
Mondays 2:30 - 3:30 PM
Atkins, Paul S. Professor, Japanese Program Coordinator patkins@uw.edu
206-543-4925
GWN M247
M,W 3:30 - 4 | By Appointment
Bahrawi, Nazry Assistant Professor, Southeast Asian Program Coordinator nazryb@uw.edu
206-543-3086
GWN 239
Office Hours (By Appointment)
Barber, Grace Graduate Student in Asian Languages and Cultures gbarber1@uw.edu
Bhowmik, Davinder Associate Professor, Associate Chair dbhowmik@uw.edu
206-543-4699
GWN M239
Tuesdays 2 - 3 PM
Cao, Yuqing Assistant Teaching Professor, Summer Sessions Coordinator ycao@uw.edu
206-543-8657
GWN 212
Thursdays 1:30-3:30pm
Carlyle, John Graduate Student in Chinese, Predoctoral Instructor in Chinese jtcarlyl@uw.edu GWN M216
Cash, Ruiming Graduate Student in Chinese rcash2@uw.edu
Cassidy, Parker Graduate Student in Japanese pcass97@uw.edu
Chandekar, Amruta M. Part-time Lecturer amrutc@uw.edu
206-616-4603
SMI 022
Tues, Thurs 11:30 AM - 12:00 PM (By Appointment)
Chen, Liyao Doctoral Candidate in Chinese, Teaching Assistant in Chinese lc6113@uw.edu GWN M224
Tuesdays 2 - 3 PM
Chesbro, Christopher Graduate Student in Chinese ches85@uw.edu
Cho, Heekyoung Associate Professor, Korean Program Coordinator hchohcho@uw.edu
206-543-6937
GWN M244
Mondays 12:30 - 1:30 PM | Zoom Meeting ID: 93746372147
Cho, Nicole Teaching Assistant in Korean hsc75@uw.edu GWN M224
Choi, SeaHee Assistant Teaching Professor seahchoi@uw.edu
206-221-9184
GWN M233
Mon, Wed 2:30 - 3:30 PM (By Appointment)
Chou, Ying-Hsiu Doctoral Candidate in Chinese chouhsiu@uw.edu
Clare, Avery (Wanmin Zhu) Graduate Student in Chinese wmzhu@uw.edu
DeTora, Benjamin Doctoral Candidate in Japanese, Teaching Assistant in Japanese bdetora@uw.edu GWN M224
Ding, Jamie Graduate Student in Japanese, Teaching Assistant in Japanese, GSA Book Sale Coordinator jding815@uw.edu GWN M230
Dubrow, Jennifer Associate Professor jdubrow@uw.edu
206-543-4146
GWN M212
Thursdays 12:30 PM - 1:30 PM In-Office (By Appointment)
Fu, Siyuan Doctoral Candidate in Chinese siyuanf@uw.edu
Gao, Yunhui Graduate Student in Chinese gyunhui@uw.edu
Gershman, William Graduate Student in Japanese, Teaching Assistant in Japanese wgersh@uw.edu GWN M230
Hall, Emily Part-Time Lecturer emily4mi@uw.edu
206-543-9375
SMI 020
Mon. 3:30-4:30 PM, Thurs. 11 AM-12 PM ZOOM ID: 2875828579
Hamm, John Christopher (Chris) Professor, Chinese Program Coordinator jcsong@uw.edu
206-543-4974
GWN M245
Han, Gyeol Graduate Student in Chinese, Teaching Assistant in Korean gyeol@uw.edu GWN M226
Handel, Zev Professor, Department Chair zhandel@uw.edu
206-543-4996
GWN 225
Mon 3:30 - 4:30 PM, Wed 10 - 11 AM
Ho, Bauhinia Graduate Student in Chinese htbho@uw.edu
House, Shelby Predoctoral Instructor in Hindi jshouse@uw.edu CMU 218C (Simpson Center)
Tu and Th 1:15 - 2 PM
Hung, Tzu-Lu (Lulu) Graduate Student in Japanese tzuluh@uw.edu
Iwata, Akiko Assistant Teaching Professor, Japanese Language Coordinator iwata3@uw.edu
206-543-6628
GWN 244
Tuesdays 12:30 - 1:30 PM (By Appointment)
Jesty, Justin Associate Professor jestyj@uw.edu DEN 343
Wednesdays 12 - 1 PM (By Appointment)
Jiang, Lisa Graduate Student in Japanese lisajsp@uw.edu
Kim, JungHee Associate Teaching Professor junghee@uw.edu
206-543-7487
GWN M227
Wednesdays 9:00 - 9:50 AM on Zoom (By Appointment) | Zoom Meeting ID: 7817995779
Kim, Ungsan Assistant Professor sankim@uw.edu
206-616-8060
GWN 231
Not Teaching in AUT 2023 (Contact for Appointment)
Kundert, Raechel Graduate Student in Japanese raech525@uw.edu
Kwon, Youngjun Doctoral Candidate in Chinese yjkwon@uw.edu
Laiman, Jonathan Graduate Student in Buddhist Studies jlaiman@uw.edu
Lanneau, Grainger Doctoral Candidate in Chinese gl38@uw.edu
Le, Diep Lecturer dieple@uw.edu
206-543-9375
SMI 020
Tuesdays 12 - 1 PM
Lee, Han (Gloria) Graduate Student in Chinese, Teaching Assistant in Chinese ghlee@uw.edu GWN M226
Mondays 2 - 3 PM
Liu, Stephanie Graduate Student in Chinese, Staff Assistant in the Language Learning Center hungyun@uw.edu
Loggins, Nathan Chinese Flagship Program Coordinator nloggins@uw.edu GWN M216
Lü, Chan Associate Professor chanlu@uw.edu
206-543-2757
GWN M214
By Appointment
Ma, Xi Assistant Teaching Professor xima@uw.edu
206-543-4805
SMI 018
Wednesday | 12 - 2 PM
Mack, Ted Professor tmack@uw.edu
206-543-4356
GWN 248
Wednesdays 12 - 1 PM (By Appointment)
Malik, Nicholas Graduate Student in Japanese nmalik06@uw.edu
Marino, III, Joseph A. Cris & Melissa Upton Cyders Professor of Buddhist Studies, South Asian Program Coordinator jamarino@uw.edu
206-897-1584
GWN M229
Wednesdays 12 - 1 PM, Thursdays 3:30 - 4:30 PM
Matsuda-Kiami, Izumi Teaching Professor matsuda@uw.edu
206-543-0066
GWN 250
Tues 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM, Fri 1 - 2 PM
Nishikawa, Itsuko Associate Teaching Professor inishi@uw.edu
206-543-4995
GWN M248
Thursdays 12:30 - 1:30 PM (By Appointment)
Niver-Johnson, Jordan Graduate Student in Japanese, Teaching Assistant in Japanese jniver@uw.edu GWN M230
Ofori-Dankwa, Daniel Graduate Student in Japanese dkofori@uw.edu
Ohta, Amy Snyder Professor, Chair of Undergraduate Education aohta@uw.edu
206-543-6315
GWN 247
Thursdays 11 AM - 12 PM (By Appointment)
Ohta, Kaoru Teaching Professor kaoru@uw.edu
206-543-6936
GWN 246
Tuesdays 12:30 - 1:20 PM
Park, John Part-Time Lecturer johnpz@uw.edu
206-543-6931
SMI 016
Mon, Wed 12:30 - 1:30 PM
Patwell, Sam Graduate Student in Chinese spatwell@uw.edu
Pauwels, Heidi Professor hpauwels@uw.edu
206-543-4235
GWN 233
Office Hours (By Appointment)
Rominger, Gian Assistant Professor gromin@uw.edu
206-212-9375
GWN M225
Thursdays 2-3 PM
Sandjaja, Desiana Pauli Teaching Professor, Southeast Asian Language Coordinator sandjaja@uw.edu
206-543-9170
GWN M250
Mondays 4-5 PM or ZOOM
Schnell, Anna Graduate Student in Japanese aks90@uw.edu
Seipke, Aidan Graduate Student in Japanese awseipke@uw.edu
Sheng, Zhifan Graduate Student in Chinese, Teaching Assistant in Chinese zfsheng@uw.edu GWN M226
Shi, Qinwei Graduate Student in Japanese qwshi01@uw.edu
Shimonagane, Haruki Graduate Student in Chinese, Teaching Assistant in Japanese hshimo@uw.edu GWN M230
Wednesdays 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Song, Jiwon Graduate Student in Chinese, Teaching Assistant in Korean jwsong08@uw.edu GWN M226
Sun, Yingying Lecturer sunyy@uw.edu
206-685-2423
SMI 024
Mondays 2:30 - 3:30 PM (In-person), Wednesdays 1 - 2 PM (Online By Appointment)
Takeda, Fumiko Assistant Teaching Professor fumikot@uw.edu
206-616-2113
GWN 229
Tuesdays 12:30 - 1:30 PM (By Appointment)
Turner, Bich-Ngoc Assistant Teaching Professor turnerbn@uw.edu
206-221-3362
GWN 235
Wednesdays 12 - 1 PM
Van Scoyoc, Kirk L. Academic Counselor, Graduate Program Advisor asianadv@uw.edu
206-543-4997
GWN 225
drop-ins usually available Monday-Friday: 9:00-11:30 AM and 1:30-4:30 PM
Wang, Ping Associate Professor, Graduate Program Coordinator pingw@uw.edu
206-543-4286
GWN M246
Wednesdays 1-2 PM or by appointment - Email Instructor for Zoom Meeting Link
Weng, Linjia Graduate Student in Chinese lynnn7@uw.edu
Won, EunYoung Associate Teaching Professor, Korean Language Coordinator woney@uw.edu
206-543-4202
GWN M235
Tuesdays 12:30 - 1:30 PM
Wu, Yifan Graduate Student in Chinese wyifan1@uw.edu
Xu, Sherry Graduate Student in Japanese, Teaching Assistant in Japanese, GSA Book Sale Coordinator jinyuexu@uw.edu GWN M230
Wednesdays 10:30 - 11:30 AM
Yadav, Anjali Graduate Student in South Asian Languages and Literature ayadav06@uw.edu
Yin, Luoth Part-Time Lecturer luothy@uw.edu
206-543-6931
SMI 016
Yu, Liping Teaching Professor, Chinese Language Coordinator lyu@uw.edu
206-685-0394
GWN 214
Mondays 2:00-3:00pm on Zoom (By Appointment) | Zoom Meeting ID: 417616943
Zhang, Kaiyin Graduate Student in Japanese, GPSS Senator kayz@uw.edu
Zhang, Wenyue (Evangeline) Graduate Student in Japanese akagitan@uw.edu
Zhou, Jieyu Graduate Student in Chinese, Teaching Assistant in Chinese jzhou4@uw.edu GWN M224
Mondays 1:30 - 2:30 PM
Zhou, Shiwei Doctoral Candidate in Chinese, Teaching Assistant in Chinese zhousw23@uw.edu GWN M224
Tuesdays 1 - 2 PM
Zhu, Xi Doctoral Candidate in Chinese xizhu@uw.edu
Zhu, Yan Lecturer yanzh@uw.edu
206-221-2077
SMI 024
Mondays 11:25 AM - 12:25 PM
Zielonka, Frances Administrator asianlladmin@uw.edu
206-616-7428
GWN 225

Adjunct/Affiliate Faculty

People - Full Directory
Name Title Email/Phone Office Hours
Braester, Yomi Adjunct Professor; Professor of Comparative Literature yomi@uw.edu
206-221-6639
C504 PDL, Box 354338
Lien, Y. Edmund Affiliate Assistant Professor, Chinese Literature elien@uw.edu
Mawkanuli, Talant Adjunct Associate Teaching Professor, Department of Near Eastern Languages & Civilization tmawkan@uw.edu
206-616-5616
DEN 241
Novetzke, Christian Adjunct Professor; Professor, South Asia Program and Comparative Religion Program novetzke@uw.edu
206-543-6142
THO 427, Box 353650

Emeriti Faculty

People - Full Directory
Name Title Email/Phone Office Hours
Bi, Nyan-Ping Teaching Professor Emeritus of Chinese npbi@uw.edu
Brandauer, Frederick Professor Emeritus of Chinese
Cox, Collett Professor Emeritus of Sanskrit collett@uw.edu
Kesavatana-Dohrs, Wiworn Lecturer Emeritus of Thai dohrs@uw.edu
Knechtges, David R. Professor Emeritus of Chinese knechtge@uw.edu
Pahlajrai, Prem Associate Teaching Professor Emeritus of Hindi prem@uw.edu
Salomon, Richard G. William P. and Ruth Gerberding University Professor Emeritus of Sanskrit rsalomon@uw.edu
Shapiro, Michael C. Professor Emeritus of Hindi hindimcs@uw.edu
Yue-Hashimoto, Anne Professor Emeritus of Chinese anneyue@uw.edu
Share