People - A-Z Directory

Please Note: Faculty do not hold office hours during Finals Week and Quarter Breaks.
Jump to Adjuncts and Affiliates

Name Title Email / Phone Office Hours
Abedin, Nandini Lecturer abedin@uw.edu
206-897-1584
SMI 022
Mondays through Thursdays 1:30-2:20 or by appointment
Ahmad, Jameel Senior Lecturer jameel7@uw.edu
206-543-6491
M231 Gowen Hall
Mondays and Tuesdays 1:00-2:00 or by appointment
Atkins, Paul S. Chair, Associate Professor patkins@uw.edu
206-543-4925
M227 Gowen Hall
Tuesdays 3:30-4:20 or by appointment
Bhowmik, Davinder Associate Professor, Japanese Program Coordinator dbhowmik@uw.edu
206-543-4699
M239 Gowen Hall
Tuesdays 1:30-2:20 or by appointment
Bi, Nyan-Ping Senior Lecturer npbi@uw.edu
206-543-6931
M229 Gowen Hall
Wednesdays 1:00-3:00 or by appointment
Boltz, William Professor boltzwm@uw.edu
206-543-4926
M250 Gowen Hall
On leave
Bond, Nathaniel Teaching Assistant in Japanese, Graduate Student natbond@uw.edu
206-543-4685
GOWEN M230
Wednesdays 1:30-2:20
Bradley, Sean T. Graduate Student hkdsean@uw.edu
Brandauer, Frederick Professor Emeritus fbrandau@uw.edu
Browne, Jyana jyanab@uw.edu
206-616-6492
ART 349
Butcher, Michael Graduate Student mdbutche@uw.edu
Cao, Yuqing Lecturer ycao@uw.edu
206-543-8657
212 Gowen Hall
Tuesdays 2:00-4:00 or by appointment
Castro-Meagher, Genoveva Graduate Student castromg@uw.edu
Chandekar, Amruta M. Lecturer amrutc@uw.edu
206-897-1584
SMI 022
Mondays 10:30-11:00, Wednesdays 8:00-8:30 & Thursdays 9:30-10:00 or by appointment
Chapman, Ian Lecturer ichapman@uw.edu
206-897-1584
SMI 020
Tuesdays 2:00-3:00 or by appointment
Chen, Xinzhan Graduate Student chencxz@uw.edu
Chen, Zhinan Teaching Assistant in Chinese, Graduate Student chenzn@uw.edu
206-616-6575
Gowen M224
Wednesdays 1:00-2:00
Chi, Hannah Graduate Student chih2@uw.edu
Cho, Heekyoung Assistant Professor, Korean Program Coordinator hchohcho@uw.edu
206-543-6937
M244 Gowen Hall
Mondays and Wednesdays 2:00-2:50 or by appointment
Clayton, Sarah Teaching Assistant in Japanese, Graduate Student smc33@uw.edu
206-543-4685
Gowen M230
Mondays 1:15-2:15
Costello, Corbett Graduate Student cc2771@uw.edu
Cox, Collett Professor collett@uw.edu
206-543-4965
M245 Gowen Hall
Mondays and Wednesdays 11:30-12:20 or by appointment
Cross, Angela Academic Counselor, Graduate Program Adviser amcross@uw.edu
206-543-4997
Gowen 225
Diamond, Christopher L. Teaching Assistant, Teaching Assistant in South Asian, Graduate Student cldiam@uw.edu
206-616-2113
Art 339
Thursdays 12:30-1:30
Dubrow, Jennifer Assistant Professor jdubrow@uw.edu
206-543-4146
229 Gowen Hall
Tuesdays and Thursdays 4:30-5:00 or by appointment
Fu, Siyuan Teaching Assistant in Chinese, Graduate Student siyuanf@uw.edu
206-616-0995
Gowen M226
Tuesdays 12:00-1:00
Fukunaga, Sunao Teaching Assistant in Japanese sunaof@uw.edu
206-616-6575
Gowen M224
Wednesdays 11:30-12:20
Hamm, John Christopher (Chris) Associate Chair, Associate Professor jcsong@uw.edu
206-543-4974
M235 Gowen Hall
Tuesdays and Thursdays 11:00-11:50 or by appointment
Handel, Zev Associate Professor, Chinese Program Coordinator zhandel@u.washington.edu
206-543-4863
245 Gowen Hall
Mondays 11:00-12:00 and Tuesdays 3:30-4:30 or by appointment
Henderson, Ross Teaching Assistant in Japanese, Graduate Student, Department Student Representative rdhender@uw.edu
206-543-4685
Gowen M230
Mondays 1:00-2:00 or by appointment
Hunter, Dale Curriculum Secretary dahunter@uw.edu
206-543-4918
Gowen 225
Monday-Friday 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM ; 1:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Igarashi, Kaori Graduate Student igarashi@uw.edu
Iwata, Akiko Lecturer, Japanese Language Coordinator iwata3@uw.edu
206-543-6628
244 Gowen Hall
Thursdays 1:30-2:30 and Fridays 11:30-12:30 or by appointment
Javaid, Kiran kjavaid@u.washington.edu
Jeong, Wook-Jin Graduate Student xuzhen@uw.edu
Jesty, Justin Assistant Professor jestyj@uw.edu
206-221-9184
Gowen M233
Tuesdays 3:30-4:30 or by appointment
Kaminishi, Yuta Teaching Assistant in Japanese yutak2@uw.edu
206-543-4685
GWN M230
Fridays 1:00-3:00
Kesavatana-Dohrs, Wiworn Lecturer dohrs@uw.edu
206-543-9007
M212 Gowen Hall
Mondays 2:30-4:00 or by appointment
Kim, Jiyoung Teaching Assistant in Korean kjy0921@uw.edu
206-616-6492
Art 349
Mondays 2:00-3:00
Knechtges, David R. Professor Emeritus knechtge@uw.edu M227 Gowen Hall
Tuesdays and Thursdays 10:30-11:30 or by appointment
Kwon, Youngjun Teaching Assistant, Teaching Assistant in Korean, Graduate Student yjkwon@uw.edu
206-616-6492
Art 349
Wednesdays 2:00-3:00
Lenz, Tim Lecturer tjlenz@uw.edu
206-616-2113
ART 339
On Leave
Li, Zhihua Teaching Assistant in Chinese, Graduate Student lizhihua@uw.edu
206-616-0995
Gowen M226
Tuesdays 12:00-1:00
Liu, Jennifer Graduate Student jenluo@uw.edu
Lowy, Christopher J. Teaching Assistant in Japanese, Graduate Student clowy@uw.edu
206-543-4685
Gowen M230
Wednesdays 11:30-12:30
Mack, Ted Associate Professor, Summer Quarter Coordinator tmack@uw.edu
206-543-4356
248 Gowen Hall
Wednesdays 11:00-12:00 or by appointment
Maeda, Harumi Teaching Assistant, Teaching Assistant in Japanese, Graduate Student harumi56@uw.edu
206-616-6575
Gowen M224
Fridays 12:30-1:30
Marino, III, Joseph A. Graduate Student, GPSS Representative jamarino@uw.edu
Matsuda-Kiami, Izumi Senior Lecturer matsuda@uw.edu
206-543-0066
M214 Gowen Hall
Thursdays 1:30-2:30 or by appointment
McClure, Bonnie Graduate Student bmcclur@uw.edu
Nguyen, Kim Professor Emeritus, Senior Lecturer oriole@uw.edu
Nishikawa, Itsuko Senior Lecturer inishi@uw.edu
206-543-4995
M225 Gowen Hall
Mondays 1:30-2:30 or by appointment
Ohta, Amy Snyder Associate Professor aohta@uw.edu
206-543-6315
247 Gowen Hall
Mondays 10:45-11:45 or by appointment
Ohta, Kaoru Senior Lecturer kaoru@uw.edu
206-543-6936
246 Gowen Hall
Fridays 12:30-1:20 or by appointment
Pahlajrai, Prem Senior Lecturer prem@uw.edu
206-543-4096
231 Gowen Hall
Tuesdays 8:00-9:00 and Thursdays 11:30-12:30 or by appointment
Pauwels, Heidi Professor, South Asian Program Coordinator hpauwels@uw.edu
206-543-4235
233 Gowen Hall
Tuesdays 1:00-1:50 or by appointment
Prevost, Sasha Graduate Student prevost@uw.edu
Rishi, Susmita Teaching Assistant, Teaching Assistant in South Asian, Graduate Student srishi@uw.edu GLD 418
Tuesdays 12:30-1:20
Sakamoto, Sayo Teaching Assistant in Japanese, Graduate Student sayos@uw.edu
206-543-4685
GWN M230
Thursdays 12:30-1:20
Salomon, Richard G. Professor, Graduate Program Coordinator rsalomon@uw.edu
206-543-8763
250 Gowen Hall
Tuesdays and Thursdays 10:30-11:20 or by appointment
Sandjaja, Desiana Pauli Senior Lecturer, Southeast Asian Program Coordinator sandjaja@uw.edu
206-543-9170
M248 Gowen Hall
Mondays 2:00-3:00 or by appointment
Schnell, Anna Secretary/Reception asianll@uw.edu
206-543-4996
Gowen Hall 225
Monday through Thursday 8:00-5:00 & Friday 1:00-5:00
Shapiro, Michael C. Professor hindimcs@uw.edu 071 Communications Building
By Appointment Only
Skinner, Michael Graduate Student mcskin@uw.edu
Steel, Aaron Graduate Student asteel@uw.edu
206-596-6823
Sun, Yingying Teaching Assistant in Chinese, Graduate Student sunyy@uw.edu
206-685-1269
Gowen M216
Wednesdays 3:30-4:30
Tahmoresi, Kevin W. Graduate Student kt5356@uw.edu
Tan, Yin Yin Graduate Student yyt2@uw.edu
Textor, Cindi Graduate Student ctextor@uw.edu
Turner, Bich-Ngoc Lecturer turnerbn@uw.edu
206-221-3362
Smith 018
Thursdays 1:30-2:30 or by appointment
Urita, Michiko Teaching Assistant in Japanese, Graduate Student urita@uw.edu
206-543-4685
Gowen M230
Wednesdays 11:30-12:30 or by appointment
Wang, Hongzhi Graduate Student hzwang@uw.edu
Wang, Ping Assistant Professor pingw@uw.edu
206-543-4286
Gowen M246
Fridays 10:30-11:30 or by appointment
Williams, Virginia I. Graduate Student viw@uw.edu
Won, Eunyoung Lecturer woney@uw.edu
206-543-4202
235 Gowen Hall
Thursdays 11:30-12:30 or by appointment
Xie, Kai Graduate Student kaixie@uw.edu
206-616-6492
Art 349
Yang, Li Graduate Student yangl@uw.edu
Yoon, Youngie Administrator haeyoung@uw.edu
206-616-7428
Yu, Liping Senior Lecturer lyu@uw.edu
206-685-0394
214 Gowen Hall
Mondays 1:00-2:00 or by appointment
Yue-Hashimoto, Anne Professor anneyue@uw.edu
206-543-4165
M247 Gowen Hall
Thursdays 12:30-1:30 or by appointment
Zhang, Man Teaching Assistant in Chinese, Graduate Student zhangman@uw.edu
206-616-0995
Gowen M226
Mondays 1:00-2:00
Zhang, Shuheng Graduate Student zshuheng@uw.edu
Zhao, Fei Graduate Student, Undergraduate Adviser asianadv@uw.edu
206-685-1269
Gowen M-216
Zhu, Xi Teaching Assistant in Chinese, Graduate Student xizhu@uw.edu
206-616-0995
Gowen M226
Mondays 1:30-2:30


Adjunct and Affiliate Faculty

Name Title Email / Phone Office
Aldridge, Edith Adjunct Associate Professor; Associate Professor of Linguistics aldr@uw.edu
206-685-4845
GUG 415F, Box 352425
Braester, Yomi Adjunct Professor; Professor of Comparative Literature yomi@uw.edu
206-221-6639
C504 PDL, Box 354338
Harrell, Stevan Adjunct Professor; Professor of Anthropology, Curator of Asian Ethnology at the Burke Museum stevehar@uw.edu
206-543-9608
DEN M41, Box 353100
Knechtges, Taiping Chang Affiliate Assistant Professor taiping@uw.edu
Lien, Y. Edmund Affiliate Assistant Professor, Chinese Literature elien@uw.edu
Novetzke, Christian Adjunct Associate Professor; Associate Professor of South Asia Studies and Comparative Religion novetzke@uw.edu
206-543-6142
303C THO, Box 353650
Tsutsui, Michio Adjunct Professor; Professor in Human Centered Design & Engineering mtsutsui@uw.edu
206-685-2566
SIG 209, Box 352315