You are here

People - Full Directory

Please Note: Faculty and TAs do not hold office hours during Finals Week and Quarter Breaks. Jump to Adjuncts and Affiliates
Name Title Email / Phone Office Hours
Abedin, Nandini Lecturer abedin@uw.edu
206-616-4603
SMI 022
Mondays and Wednesdays, 11:30-12:20
Aguilar, John Graduate Student in Chinese johnsajr@uw.edu
Ahmad, Jameel Associate Teaching Professor jameel7@uw.edu
206-543-6491
GWN M231
Monday 1:00 to 2:00 Tuesday 11:30 to 12:30
Atkins, Paul S. Professor patkins@uw.edu
206-543-4925
GWN M247
Tuesdays, 3:30-4:20 (Remote) Zoom ID: 952 4888 4942
Barber, Grace Graduate Student in Japanese gbarber1@uw.edu
Bhowmik, Davinder Associate Professor dbhowmik@uw.edu
206-543-4699
GWN M239
Wednesdays, 2:00-3:00 (in person) or by appointment.
Bi, Nyan-Ping Teaching Professor npbi@uw.edu
206-543-6931
GWN M229
Wednesdays, 1:00-2:00 (Remote) Zoom ID: 980 9099 1855
Boltz, William Professor boltzwm@uw.edu
206-543-4926
GWN M250
Wednesdays, 3:30-4:30
Bond, Nathaniel Graduate Student in Japanese natbond@uw.edu
Bradley , Sean T Graduate Student in Chinese hkdsean@uw.edu
Brandauer, Frederick Professor Emeritus of Chinese fbrandau@uw.edu
Cao, Yuqing Assistant Teaching Professor, Summer Sessions Coordinator ycao@uw.edu
206-543-8657
GWN 212
Wednesdays, 1:00-3:00 (In Person)
Carlyle, John Graduate Student in Chinese jtcarlyl@uw.edu
Cash, Ruiming Graduate Student in Chinese rcash2@uw.edu
Chandekar, Amruta M. Part-time Lecturer amrutc@uw.edu
206-616-4603
SMI 022
Tuesdays 10:30-11:30 (in person) Thursdays 10:30-11:30 on Zoom https://washington.zoom.us/j/6389056219?pwd=SWxXb20vZ1lkOTl5OTViVlI1ZGQrUT09
Chen, Liyao Graduate Student in Chinese, Teaching Assistant in Chinese lc6113@uw.edu GWN M226
Mondays 2:30-3:30
Chen, Zhinan Doctoral Student in Chinese chenzn@uw.edu
206-685-1269
GWN M216
Tuesdays 12:00-1:00 (Remote) https://washington.zoom.us/j/97271344806
Chesbro, Christopher Graduate Student in Chinese ches85@uw.edu
Cho, Heekyoung Associate Professor, Associate Chair, Korean Program Coordinator hchohcho@uw.edu
206-543-6937
GWN M244
Wednesdays, 12:30-1:20pm (Remote) https://washington.zoom.us/j/93746372147
Chou, Ying-Hsiu Doctoral Candidate in Chinese chouhsiu@uw.edu
Choung, Hae Yun Teaching Assistant in Korean hychoung@uw.edu SMI 016
Mondays 5:00-6:00pm (Remote)
Costello, Corbett Graduate Student in South Asian Languages and Literature cc2771@uw.edu
206-543-3086
GWN 239
Tuesdays and Thursdays from 10:30am-11:30am
Cox, Collett Professor Emeritus collett@uw.edu
206-543-4965
DeTora, Benjamin Graduate Student in Japanese, Teaching Assistant in Japanese bdetora@uw.edu GWN M224
Thursdays 9:00-10:00AM (Remote) Zoom ID: 910 3644 3114
Ding, Jamie Graduate Student in Japanese, Teaching Assistant in Japanese jding815@uw.edu GWN M230
Fridays 10:00-11:00am
Dubrow, Jennifer Associate Professor, South Asian Program Coordinator jdubrow@uw.edu
206-543-4146
GWN M212
Tuesdays, Thursdays 4:30-5:00 (Remote) https://washington.zoom.us/j/91832316781
Eagan, Lena Assistant to Administrator asianll@uw.edu
206-543-4996
GWN 225
Fitterer, Elizabeth Graduate Student in Buddhist Studies emfitt@uw.edu
Fu, Siyuan Graduate Student in Chinese siyuanf@uw.edu
Hall, Emily Teaching Assistant in Korean emily4mi@uw.edu
Hamm, John Christopher (Chris) Professor jcsong@uw.edu
206-543-4974
GWN M245
Mondays and Wednesdays, 11:00-12:00 (Remote) Zoom ID: 928 9008 9533
Han, Gyeol Graduate Student in Chinese, Teaching Assistant in Korean gyeol@uw.edu SMI 016
Mondays 3:30-4:30 (Remote) https://washington.zoom.us/j/96719161469
Handel, Zev Professor, Department Chair zhandel@uw.edu
206-543-4996
GWN 225
Mondays, 9-10am, in person in Gowen 225; Tuesdays, 2-3pm, remote on Zoom at https://washington.zoom.us/my/zhandel; Wednesdays, 9-10am, in person in Gowen 225
Hatch, Teshika Teaching Assistant in Japanese teshikah@uw.edu
206-543-4685
Horikawa, Nobuko Graduate Student in Japanese, Teaching Assistant in Japanese horikn@uw.edu GWN M224
Fridays, 12:30-1:20pm (Remote) https://washington.zoom.us/ j/92499043762
Iwata, Akiko Assistant Teaching Professor, Japanese Language Coordinator iwata3@uw.edu
206-543-6628
GWN 244
Tuesdays 1:30 to 2:30 (Remote) Zoom ID: 971 3613 8471
Jesty, Justin Associate Professor jestyj@uw.edu
206-221-9184
GWN M233
Wednesdays, 2:30-3:30 (Remote. Please email the instructor for Zoom link)
Kaminishi , Yuta Graduate Student in Comparative Literature, Teaching Assistant in Japanese yutak2@uw.edu GWN M224
Mondays 1:00-2:00 (Remote) Zoom ID: 922 1539 4918
Kesavatana-Dohrs, Wiworn Lecturer Emeritus dohrs@uw.edu
Kim, JungHee Associate Teaching Professor, Korean Language Coordinator junghee@uw.edu
206-543-7487
GWN M227
Wednesdays, 11:30-12:20pm (Remote) https://washington.zoom.us/ j/92499043762
Kim, Yunee Teaching Assistant in Korean yuneek@uw.edu
Knechtges, David R. Professor Emeritus of Chinese knechtge@uw.edu
Kwon, Youngjun Graduate Student in Chinese yjkwon@uw.edu
Lanneau, Grainger Graduate Student in Chinese gl38@uw.edu
Lee, Han (Gloria) Graduate Student in Chinese ghlee@uw.edu
Lee, Helen Teaching Assistant in Korean hlee921@uw.edu SMI 016
Mondays 12:30-1:20 (Remote or In-Person) https://washington.zoom.us/j/96913935651 Meeting ID: 969 1393 5651 Passcode: 940382
Liu, Stephanie Graduate Student in Chinese hungyun@uw.edu
Loggins, Nathan Graduate Student in Linguistics, Teaching Assistant in Chinese nloggins@uw.edu
206-685-1269
GWN M216
Thursdays 3:30-4:30 (In Person, GWN 223 Conference Room) Fridays 1:00-2:00 online via Zoom https://washington.zoom.us/j/3372040166 Meeting ID: 337 204 0166
Lü, Chan Associate Professor, Chinese Program Coordinator, Chinese Language Coordinator chanlu@uw.edu
206-543-2757
GWN M214
By Appointment Only. Zoom ID: 208 684 4933
Ma, Sihan Graduate Student in Japanese, Teaching Assistant in Japanese sihanm2@uw.edu
206-543-4685
GWN M230
Tuesdays 10:30-11:30AM (Remote). Zoom link: https://washington.zoom.us/j/6692073474
Mack, Ted Associate Professor, Graduate Program Coordinator tmack@uw.edu
206-543-4356
GWN 248
By Appointment Only. Zoom link: https://washington.zoom.us/my/tedmack
Marino, III, Joseph A. Assistant Professor jamarino@uw.edu
206-897-1584
SMI 020
Tuesdays 11:00-12:00 (Remote) https://washington.zoom.us/j/3358015525 Wednesdays (in office) 3:30-4:30
Matsuda-Kiami, Izumi Teaching Professor matsuda@uw.edu
206-543-0066
GWN 250
Mondays, 12:00-1:00 (In Person or Remote) Zoom ID: 882 314 3133
Nguyen, Yen Kim Assistant Teaching Professor nkimyen@uw.edu
206-543-4805
SMI 018
Office hours: Thursdays 11:30 - 12:30 via Zoom or by appointment. Personal meeting Zoom: https://washington.zoom.us/j/7101371465
Nishikawa, Itsuko Associate Teaching Professor inishi@uw.edu
206-543-4995
GWN M225
Tuesdays 11:30-12:30 (Remote) Zoom ID: 954 5240 1673
Ohta, Amy Snyder Associate Professor, Japanese Program Coordinator aohta@uw.edu
206-543-6315
GWN 247
Wednesdays 2:30-3:20 (except 9/29) (In-Person or Remote) https://washington.zoom.us/my/aohta
Ohta, Kaoru Associate Teaching Professor kaoru@uw.edu
206-543-6936
GWN 246
Fridays 12:00-1:00 (Remote) Zoom Link: https://washington.zoom.us/j/5320114970
Pahlajrai, Prem Associate Teaching Professor prem@uw.edu
206-543-4096
GWN 231
Park, Eunmi Teaching Assistant in Korean eunmip@uw.edu
Patwell, Sam Graduate Student in Chinese spatwell@uw.edu
Pauwels, Heidi Professor hpauwels@uw.edu
206-543-4235
GWN 233
Mondays and Wednesdays, 12:50-1:20
Razzak, Kaleb Graduate Student in Chinese krazzak@uw.edu
Salomon, Richard G. William P. and Ruth Gerberding University Professor Emeritus rsalomon@uw.edu
Sanders, Samantha Chinese Flagship Program Coordinator chineseflagship@uw.edu
206-221-2077
SMI 024
Sandjaja, Desiana Pauli Teaching Professor, Southeast Asian Program Coordinator sandjaja@uw.edu
206-543-9170
GWN M248
Tuesdays 2:00-3:00 (Remote) (Please email the instructor for a Zoom link.)
Schnell, Anna Program Coordinator, Graduate Student in Japanese asianpc@uw.edu
543-4918
GWN 225
Shapiro, Michael C. Professor Emeritus hindimcs@uw.edu
Sheng, Zhifan Graduate Student in Chinese, Teaching Assistant in Chinese zfsheng@uw.edu GWN M226
Thursdays 4:00-5:00
Singer, Lauren Graduate Student in Japanese lmsinger@uw.edu
Takeda, Fumiko Assistant Teaching Professor fumikot@uw.edu GWN 229
Wednesdays, 2:00-3:00 Zoom ID: 933 7174 0458
Tanahashi, Ami Graduate Student in Japanese, Teaching Assistant in Japanese amitana@uw.edu
206-543-4685
GMN M230
Fridays 12:30 to 1:30 (Remote). Zoom ID is: 653 842 8692
Tsujihara, Rie Teaching Assistant in Japanese rtsuji@uw.edu
206-543-4685
GWN M230
Fridays 2:00-3:00 (Remote). Meeting ID: 950 6471 4603
Turner, Bich-Ngoc Assistant Teaching Professor turnerbn@uw.edu
206-221-3362
GWN 235
Thursdays, 1:30-2:30 (In Person or Remote) Zoom Link: https://washington.zoom.us/j/8177776324
Van Scoyoc, Kirk L. Academic Counselor, Graduate Program Advisor asianadv@uw.edu
206-543-4997
GWN 225
Advising Hours: Tu We Fr 9 - 10 AM and Mo - Fr 2 - 3 PM and by appointment
Wang, Ping Associate Professor pingw@uw.edu
206-543-4286
GWN M246
Thursdays 3:30-4:20 (Remote) https://washington.zoom.us/j/4367959317
Williams, Virginia I. Graduate Student in Chinese viw@uw.edu
Won, EunYoung Associate Teaching Professor woney@uw.edu
206-543-4202
GWN M235
Tuesdays, 12:30-1:30 (Remote) https://washington.zoom.us/j/99751053766
Wu, Yifan Graduate Student in Chinese wyifan1@uw.edu
Xu, Sherry Graduate Student in Japanese jinyuexu@uw.edu
Yadav, Anjali Graduate Student in South Asian Languages and Literature ayadav06@uw.edu
Yoon, Youngie Administrator haeyoung@uw.edu
206-616-7428
GWN 225
Yu, Liping Teaching Professor lyu@uw.edu
206-685-0394
GWN 214
Wednesdays, 1:30-2:30 (Remote) https://washington.zoom.us/j/417616943
Yue-Hashimoto, Anne Professor Emeritus anneyue@uw.edu
Yukimoto, Yasuko Graduate Student in Japanese, Teaching Assistant in Japanese yukimoto@uw.edu
206-543-4685
GWN M230
Fridays 3:00-4:00 (Remote). Zoom link: https://washington.zoom.us/j/93687040956 Meeting ID: 936 8704 0956
Zhang, Kaiyin Graduate Student in Japanese kayz@uw.edu
Zhang, Man Doctoral Candidate in Chinese zhangman@uw.edu
206-685-1269
Zhao, Fei Graduate Student in Buddhist Studies zhaofei@uw.edu
Zhou, Jieyu Graduate Student in Chinese, Teaching Assistant in Chinese jzhou4@uw.edu GWN M226
Wednesdays 2:30-3:30
Zhou, Shiwei Graduate Student in Chinese zhousw23@uw.edu GWN M226
Tuesdays 1:30-2:30
Zhu, Xi Doctoral Candidate in Chinese xizhu@uw.edu

Adjunct/Affiliate Faculty

Name Title Email / Phone
Braester, Yomi Adjunct Professor; Professor of Comparative Literature yomi@uw.edu
206-221-6639
Lien, Y. Edmund Affiliate Assistant Professor, Chinese Literature elien@uw.edu
Novetzke, Christian Adjunct Professor; Professor, South Asia Program and Comparative Religion Program novetzke@uw.edu
206-543-6142
Share