Graduation and Awards Convocation 2010

Friday, June 11, 2010
Kane Hall

Asian Languages and Literature
Graduate and Awards Convocation

Chairman Michael Shapiro offered Welcoming Remarks to the Class of 2010.

Chairman Shapiro


Dr. Robert Stacey, Divisional Dean for Arts and Humanities delivered the Convocation Remarks.

Dean Stacey


The Asian Languages and Literature undergraduate class of 2010 comprises 40 students who were awarded Bachelor's degrees in Chinese, Japanese, and Korean. Asian L&L graduates also majored in International Studies, Economics, History and the Natural Sciences.

Undergraduate class


The graduate class of 2010 was granted five Master of Arts degrees; admitted three graduate students into doctoral candidacy, and awarded four Ph.D.

Graduate class


 Clara Nadja Lawryniuk and Sin Yi (Cindy) Tsang were awarded the Henry S. Tatsumi Award for excellence in the study of Japanese.

Clara Nadja Lawryniuk and Sin Yi (Cindy) Tsang receive Tatsumi Award


The Turrell V. Wylie Memorial Scholarship was awarded this year to Dr. Jon Holt. The award was presented by Dr. Paul Atkins.

Dr. Jon Holt receives Wylie Award


Professor Chris Hamm introduced Ms. Maisha Mariko Kuniyuki as the winner of the Scott Swaner Memorial book Award.

Maisha Mariko Kuniyuki receives Swaner Award

 Amy McNamara was honored with the Li Fang-Kuei Award


After the Graduation and Awards Ceremony officially concluded; graduates, faculty and guests enjoyed refreshments. Additional pictures appear below.

Reception program